Practical Jean by Trevor Cole

Standard

Jean Horemarsh lives in a quaint small town, where she owns a ceramics shop. She’s been married for 29 years to Milt, a substitute teacher, and they live a quiet, ordinary life. When Jean’s mom becomes terminally ill, it’s up to Jean, as the only daughter in the family to care for her, and the experience leaves Jean with a new perspective on life – and death. No one should have to suffer the way her mother did, so Jean determines that she’ll be doing her best friends a favor by sparing them the indignities of aging and illness, and one by one, sets out to kill them.

Cole addresses the complicated relationships between mothers and daughters, as well as women and their friends in this darkly humorous tale. A quick read that I thoroughly enjoyed.

About Colette

Hi, my name is Colette (Cookie to my favorite people!), and I doodle. A lot. As an artist and teacher, I believe that art should be fun and accessible to everyone. It is my sincere hope that you will be inspired to create your own masterpieces as we embark on our artistic journey. Welcome!

Leave a comment